Health insurance exchanges will offer government-regulated and standardized healthcare plans from which individuals may purchase health insurance eligible for federal subsidies.  These exchanges must be ready to begin enrollment by October 1, 2013.

Every state, plus the District of Columbia, must have an exchange.  States may choose to operate the exchange itself, operate it in partnership with the federal government or allow the federal Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to operate the exchange.

Currently, it appears that 25 will have federal-run exchanges, 18 will have state-run exchanges, and 8 will have jointly-run (state/HHS) exchanges.  The following identifies the respective state choices.


State-run exchange
Calif. Hawaii Md. N.M. Texas
Colo. Idaho Mass. N.Y. Vt.
Conn. Ky. Minn. Ore. Wash.
D.C. Nev. R.I.


Federal exchange
Ala. Ind. Mo. N.D. S.D.
Alaska Kan. Mont. Okla. Tenn.
Ariz. La. Neb. Ohio Va.
Fla. Maine N.J. Pa. Wis.
Ga. Miss. N.C. S.C. Wyo.


Planned partnership exchange
Ark. Ill. Mich. Utah
Del. Iowa N.H. W.Va.